US teacher licensing

School of Ed
United States Teacher Licensing

Teacher licensing within the United States is regulated by state government agencies. Each state maintains its own requirements for both initial teacher licensing as well as the transfer of a teacher license from one state to another. Please reference the list below for information on teacher licensing within individual states. Because requirements can change, it is important to check with the individual licensure state agency.


Dept. of Education

Alabama AL Alabama
Alaska AK Alaska
American Samoa
AS American Samoa (N/A)
Arizona AZ Arizona
Arkansas AR Arkansas
California CA California
Colorado CO Colorado
Connecticut CT Connecticut
Delaware DE Delaware
District of
DC District of
Florida FL Florida
Georgia GA Georgia
Guam GU Guam (N/A)
Hawaii HI Hawaii
Idaho ID Idaho
Illinois IL Illinois
Indiana IN Indiana
Iowa IA Iowa
Kansas KS Kansas
Kentucky KY Kentucky
Louisiana LA Louisiana
Maine ME Maine
Maryland MD Maryland
Massachusetts MA Massachusetts
Michigan MI Michigan
Minnesota MN Minnesota
Mississippi MS Mississippi
Missouri MO Missouri
Montana MT Montana
Nebraska NE Nebraska
Nevada NV Nevada
New Hampshire NH New Hampshire
New Jersey NJ New Jersey
New Mexico NM New Mexico
New York NY New York
North Carolina NC North Carolina
North Dakota ND North Dakota
Northern Marianas Islands MP Northern Marianas Islands (N/A)
Ohio OH Ohio
Oklahoma OK Oklahoma
Oregon OR Oregon
Pennsylvania PA Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico PR Puerto Rico (N/A)
Rhode Island RI Rhode Island
South Carolina SC South Carolina
South Dakota SD South Dakota
Tennessee TN Tennessee
Texas TX Texas
Utah UT Utah
Vermont VT Vermont
Virginia VA Virginia
Virgin Islands VI Virgin Islands
Washington WA Washington
West Virginia WV West Virginia
Wisconsin WI Wisconsin
Wyoming WY Wyoming